LibGuides: Film & Broadcast Research Guide: Film Websites

Archives and Special Collections

Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Film Archive
The Academy Film Archive is home to one of the most extensive and diverse motion pictures collections in the world. It includes Academy Award® nominated films, the annual Oscar® telecasts, documentaries, silent movies, experimental films, film-industry related interviews, behind-the-scenes footage, home movies, a wide range of international cinema and much, much more.
Public Moving Image Archives and Research Centers
A listing by geography of Public Moving Image Archives and Research Centers throughout the world from the National Film Preservation Board

Film and Television Studies Websites

Film Studies Resources: UC Berkeley Library: Links to Film Reviews and Criticism, Books and Primary Sources for Motion Picture studies at UC Berkeley
Society for Cinema Studies: Online community dedicated to the scholarly study of film, television, radio, digital technologies, and other media. Includes links to resources including online versions of Film Journals.
Museum of Broadcast Communications Encyclopedia of Television: With more than 1,000 original essays, the Encyclopedia of Television examines specific programs and people, historic moments and trends, major policy disputes, and topics such as Networks, Programs, Personalities, Trends, Genres, Themes, Subjects. Photos, original sources and bibliographic information. More than 250 contributors from leading media scholars around the world.
Museum of the Moving Image - Moving Image Source: The Moving Image Source Research Guide is a gateway to the best online resources related to film, television, and digital media.
Senses of Cinema: An online journal devoted to the serious and eclectic discussion of cinema. We believe cinema is an art that can take many forms, from the industrially-produced blockbuster to the hand-crafted experimental work; we also aim to encourage awareness of the histories of such diverse forms.
Media Resources Center, University of California at Berkeley: Webliography of work on film, video and televison resources on the web. Includes bibliographies on selected individual directors and films.
Research Guide in Film Studies at Yale University - Focuses on doing film research at Yale; however, the selected bibliography of research tools and internet sites is excellent.
SCREENsite: Provides access to film and television resources through the Web and stresses the teaching and research of film and television.
Voice of the Shuttle: Media Studies - A huge array of links to web sites devoted to the broad study of communication media of all types. Specific section on Film/Video.
Lantern - The search and visualization platform for over 800,000 pages of digitized texts from the the histories of film, broadcasting, and recorded sound. An open access co-production of the Media History Digital Library and the University of Wisconsin-Madison Department of Communication Arts.
Media History Digital Library Magazine Collection: Public domain media periodicals dating back to 1903, providing online access to the histories of cinema, broadcasting, and recorded sound.
Bright Lights Film Journal: Popular-academic hybrid of movie analysis, history, and commentary, looking at classic and commercial, independent, exploitation, and international film from a wide range of vantage points from the aesthetic to the political.
Images: This online journal is a fusion of popular and academic approaches to film and popular culture
Screening the Past - An international electronic journal of visual media and history.
Simply Scripts - Provides searchable access to screenplays on the web.
Alfred Hitchcock - The Master of Suspense: A collection of biographical, summary and critical sources.
All-Movie Guide: Provides credits, plot synopses, biographical information and user-provided ratings.
Internet Move Database (IMDb): The world's most popular and authoritative source for movie, TV and celebrity content. Indispensbale for tracking down credits and othe information about theatrical film, from the beginning of the movies to the present
Rotten Tomatoes: A website devoted to news, information, and reviews of films.

Film Societies and Organizations

American Film Institute
AFI is a national institute providing leadership in screen education and the recognition and celebration of excellence in the art of film, television and digital media. The website provides, lists, interviews, speeches, and lectures from the AFI video archives.
American Society of Cinematographers
The American Society of Cinematographers is a non-profit association dedicated to advancing the art of filmmaking since its charter in 1919. It publishes American Cinematographer and the American Cinematographer Manual.
British Film Institute
The BFI, founded in 1933, is a charity governed by a Royal Charter and combines cultural, creative and industrial roles, bringing together the BFI National Archive and BFI Reuben Library, film distribution, exhibitions, publishing and festivals.
Media Education Foundation
Media Education Foundation produces and distributes documentary films and other educational resources to inspire critical thinking about the social, political, and cultural impact of American mass media. Provides transcripts and study guides to many of their films
IndustryCentral
A site for professionals in the movie and television industry.
National Film Preservation Board
Includes the National Film Registry titles.
Screen Actor's Guild
Screen Actors Guild is the nation’s largest labor union representing working actors, established in 1933. The site contains information for the production of film, including "How to Videos"
SIBMAS International Association of Libraries, Museums, Archives and Documentation Centres of the Performing Arts
lists over 7000 international institutions with material relating to the performing arts (theatre, opera, music, ballet, film, circus, radio, television, cabaret, pantomime)
Society for Cinema Studies
Online community dedicated to the scholarly study of film, television, radio, digital technologies, and other media. Includes links to resources including online versions of film journals